Online cycling magazine

Main menu: Home | Tour de France | UK cycling | Harrogate cycling | Hedge-blog

sample header image

Team Sky announce Tour squad

27th June 2014

Team Sky have announced their squad for the Tour de France 2014. It is led by Chris Froome, supported by Richie Porte. As expected, Bradley Wiggins is left out.

The full nine-man squad is Chris Froome (Great Britain - sort of), Richie Porte (Australia), Geraint Thomas (GB), Mikel Nieve (Spain), Bernhard Eisel (Austria), Vasil Kiryienka (Belarus), David Lopez (Spain), Danny Pate (USA), and Xabier Zandio (Spain).

Team Sky's website has this quote from Dave Brailsford: 'We know how hard it is to win this race and that it takes a totally focused and carefully constructed team, with the right blend of riders, to give us the best chance of victory. Each rider has been selected to play a specific role which will involve total sacrifice and commitment to the team's ambition of reaching the Champs-Elysées in yellow.'

'In tackling the difficult challenge of selecting this team, we have stuck to a performance-first philosophy which has brought us considerable success, firstly at British Cycling and then with Team Sky, for more than a decade. Given the number of talented riders in Team Sky this approach has inevitably led to some very tough decisions - however it's crucial to remain totally focused on the desired outcome and we're racing to win.'

'It has been a golden decade for cycling. Bradley Wiggins lies at the heart of a lot of that success, and although he has not been selected for this race he is still a key member of Team Sky and a great champion.'

British fans will be disappointed that Wiggins is not selected, and that Brailsford feels the need to say things - for example, that he selects the team, not Chris Froome, or that Wiggins is still a key member of Team Sky - which many people doubt are completely accurate.

Chris Froome said, 'Everyone in the team is hugely excited about the Tour de France starting in the UK and racing in front of home fans as defending champion will be an incredible honour.'

Comment Form is loading comments...