Yorkshire cycling website


Riders announced for Tour de Yorkshire 2016

17th April 2016

Bradley Wiggins at the Tour of Britain 2015

Tour of Britain Stage 3 - Bradley Wiggins cycling along Astley Road, Seaton Delaval, by Glen Bowman, Flickr, Licence CC BY 2.0

Bradley Wiggins will take part in the 2016 Tour de Yorkshire, in a supporting role for his Team Wiggins teammates Owain Doull and Andy Tennant. Peter Kennaugh and Luke Rowe line up for Team Sky alongside last year's Tour de Yorkshire winner Lars Petter Nordhaug. Adam Yates represents Orica GreenEdge, and Josh Edmondson and Ian Bibby ride for NFTO. Other British riders include Stephen Cummings (Dimension Data), Russell Downing (JLT Condor), Erick Rowsell (Madison Genesis), and Gabriel Cullaigh (National Team).

According to the Tour de Yorkshire website, there are also star riders from other countries, such as Australians Caleb Ewan, Mathew Hayman (both Orica GreenEdge), and Rohan Dennis (BMC Racing); and Frenchmen Nicolas Edet (Cofidis), Thomas Voeckler (Direct Energie), and Warren Barguil (Giant-Alpecin).

In the women's race, the biggest star is World Champion Lizzie Armitstead. Fellow Brits Dani King and Emma Pooley will take part, as will Kirsten Wild (NL), Shelley Olds (USA), and Jolien D'Hoore.

According to the BBC's Matt Slater, the Tour de Yorkshire is 'sandwiched between older and bigger races', but the field shows that it is finding its feet. The men's starts list '...looks like a step-up in quality on last year, [and] the women's field is a giant stride forward...'

Lizzie Armitstead to ride Tour de Yorkshire 2016

23rd March 2016

Lizzie Armitstead

Lizzie Armitstead will ride the women's Tour de Yorkshire 2016, which is the same route as the men's stage 2. It's to be the most lucrative race on the women's cycling calendar. Read more about Armitstead to ride the Tour de Yorkshire 2016...

Geraint Thomas wins Paris Nice

14th March 2016

Geraint Thomas at Harewood House

Geraint Thomas held off an attack by Alberto Contador on the final stage of Paris Nice, to take overall victory. Read more about Geraint Thomas wins Paris Nice...

© 2016 ValThorensGuide
Template design by Andreas Viklund